Product Review: Paula’s Choice Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Lotion

Product claims: This moisturizing lotion will hydrate your skin, soothe redness, unclogs and shrinks pores, reduce the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles, eliminate blackheads, and even out your skin tone. Suitable for all skin types and recommended for dry skin types.

Ingredients: Water, Butylene Glycol (hydration), Polysorbate 20 (emulsifier), Cetyl Alcohol (thickener), Salicylic Acid (beta hydroxy acid/exfoliant), Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/VP Copolymer (thickener), Cyclopentasiloxane (silicone slip agent), Sorbitan Stearate (emulsifier), Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract (green tea/antioxidant), Lauric Acid (fatty acid), Allantoin (soothing agent), Glycerin (skin-replenishing ingredient), Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Avena Sativa (Oat) Bran Extract, Epilobium Angustifolium Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract (plant-based antioxidant soothing agents), Dimethicone (silicone skin-conditioning agent), Xanthin Gum (thickener), Magnesium Aluminum Silicate (absorbent slip agent), PEG-40 Stearate (thickener), Sodium Hydroxide (pH-adjusting agent), Hexylene Glycol (solvent), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Ethylhexylglycerin (skin-conditioning agent), Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol (preservatives)

Fragrance: This exfoliant is fragrance-free. The smell of it was unpleasant. It’s hard to describe what exactly it smells like but it’s gross.

Texture and application: It was like a thicker lotion that was hard to spread evenly and it didn’t absorb well.

Packaging: The packaging uses a pump. I didn’t like it very much, because every time, there would be dried, congealed lotion stuck in the end of the pump even though I was using it regularly. It felt like a lot of wasted product. I had to pump out congealed lotion every day, dispose of it, and then pump out the actually-usable product that was trapped behind the congealed bits. And then by the next day, it would be congealed again. I’m not sure if I can fault this as a packaging issue or a formulation issue. In January 2019 (or possibly very late 2018), the company has revamped the packaging of the product to a sleek black bottle but as far as I can tell, the pump itself looks exactly the same.

Performance: It did nothing for me. It had many lofty claims about moisturizing, soothing, minimizing pores, improving wrinkles, getting rid of blackheads, and evening out your skin tone. It did none of that. It made zero difference to my acne as well, which was my main reason for purchasing it (and many other people’s main reasons for purchasing any BHA product). I was completely unimpressed.

Pros:

  • None

Cons:

  • No benefits or effects from using this product
  • Smells bad
  • Product keeps getting congealed inside the pump
  • Hard to spread evenly and doesn’t sink in

Final thoughts: I give this product 0/5. It was both expensive and useless. I chose this over the “Liquid” and the “Gel” version because the company website said the “Lotion” version would be most suitable for people who have dry skin type (which I did a few years ago, at the time of trying this product). I got halfway through the bottle before I gave up on it and threw it in the trash.

My skin: Combo, oily t-zone and dry everywhere else, clog prone, acne prone on my chin

2 thoughts on “Product Review: Paula’s Choice Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Lotion

    1. Thanks for your comment! 🙂 If you are interested in trying a salicylic acid product, you could try the “Liquid” version of this product instead. Apparently it’s MUCH better than the “Lotion” version that I tried. Another option is Cosrx BHA Blackhead Power Liquid (4% betaine salicylate) which is what I use and I like it very much!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment